BllokuBlogger

ART: Vintage Albanian Photographs

car2carThe amazing website http://www.albanianphotography.net by Robert Elsie is bursting with amazing shots of Albania from 13 collections dating from 1873-1952.  It includes first hand accounts from the adventuring photographers including:

(1)  Sultan Abdul Hamid II (1876-1900);
(2) The French consul Alexandre Degrand, 1890s;
(3) 1909 expedition by the French travel writer, Gabriel Louis-Jaray;
(4) 1910 trip by German journalist Ernst Jäckh with the notorious Turkish General Shefket Torgut Pasha;

(5) 1914 collection of Italian foreign minister, Marquis San Giuliano, documenting the reign of Prince Wilhelm zu Wied;

(6) 1920’s photos by Austrian anthropologist, Hugo Adolf Bernatzik;
(7) 1930’s collection of Countess Marion Dönhoff
(8) 1936-1941 collection of Nazi ambassador in Tirana, Erich von Luckwald.


They include first-hand accounts by the photographers, including this brilliant description by Baron Nopcsa of Vienna on a visit to Albania in 1903:

“From Skopje I thus set off for Prizren. There I was given three zaptiehs for the trip to Shkodra. I spent the first night in the han of Brut and, having departed at the break of dawn the next morning, I was shot at from close range out of some bushes on the right hand side at a bend in the road. The bullet went right through my hat and grazed my head, but did not injure me. I leapt off my horse, sought shelter and wanted to fire back, but was unable to catch sight of the criminal. At that moment, I had the very unchristian feeling of being a hunter laying in wait to shoot game. My Mannlicher Karabiner, equipped with a field-glass, which I had kept loaded in my saddle had thus been of no use to me at all. The rest of the journey, from the Vizier’s Bridge to Shkodra, passed without event.”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 15, 2014 by in Art and tagged , , , , , , .
